Reviews

Great Parnassus Family Resort is committed to providing every guest with the finest in beachfront comfort and family-friendly service – but you don’t have to take our word for it. Read our reviews to see what past guests have said about their experience at our Cancún resort.

  • Loved this resort

    This resort was AMAZING! We went on a family holiday ( 6 adults and 2 children). On our first day we all had mixed opinions about the resort, we didn't like it but it was due to all of us being so tired and grumpy

    Orláith B Jul 15, 2016
  • We loved this resort

    My family of five stayed for two weeks, ages 50, 47, 16, 10 and 5. We loved this resort. It was perfect for our family. I will share the good and the bad but we would love to return to this resort. No resort is

    HOSKI Jul 05, 2016
  • Súper Vacaciones, Gracias Parnassus por todo

    Excelente Hotel todo Incluido, habitación de súper lujo con vista frontal al mar, snacks, bebidas, restaurantes de súper lujo, Silvia de Concierge mil gracias por ayudar a que mi cena romántica fuera un momento

    Alfredo M Jul 06, 2016
  • Great place

    The Kids Club is very nice. They have space for 2 years old (without parent) and up! they have their own swimming pool! a lot of activities! it opens from 9:00am to 8:50pm! - The girls who are in charge of the

    Marcia Brand Feb 12, 2016
  • La mejor estancia que pude tener

    Excelente hotel, muy buena atención desde que llegas. La comida muy rica y los meseros muy atentos en especial MARCOS que se encuentra en el restaurante del piso 10 muy atento el joven y con una muy buena vibra

    Gabriela M Jul 04, 2016
  • Semaine de reve au soleil

    Je suis partie avec mon amie et ma mère pour fêter son 50e anniversaire. J'ai trouvé cet hotel tout simplement super !! Notre voyage a très bien commencé dès notre chek in, l'homme responsable de faire notre admission a su répondre à nos nombreuses demandes et nos nombreux caprices. Il était attentionné et il s'est assuré de nous donner une chambre au 9ieme étage étant donnée que nous voulions avoir une belle vue. La chambre était très propre et d'une belle grandeur. La salle de bain était également parfaite surtout compte tenu du fait que nous étions 3 filles dans la même chambre !! Il y a également une mention très spéciale à faire pour l'équipe d'animation.. Dès le premier jour, nous avons participé aux nombreuses activités et nous avons eu beaucoup de plaisir tout au long de notre semaine. Jesus, Manny, patricio, Monica et tous les autres sont des personnes incroyables qui dégagent une joie de vivre contagieuse et qui seront rendre vos vacances encore plus belles. Jesus et Santino sont également parfaits lors des soirées Karaokés, ils savent comment faire passer un bon moment aux nombreux vacanciers. Nous avons aussi eu la chance d'avoir sur la plage une serveuse qui a su nous donner le meilleur service de toute ma vie! Elle était attentionnée, toujours présente lorsque nos verres étaient vides et très très attachante. Merci beaucoup à Karina. Pour ce qui est des restaurants, nous avons adoré le restaurant Samourai. Nous sommes même allées 4 fois souper dans celui-ci et ce n'est pas parce qu'il manquait de restaurants, mais bien parce que nous étions accro. Adalberto, notre serveur était tout simplement super. Il tentait même de nous parler en francais. Bref, je recommande cet hotel à tout le monde et j'y retournerais sans hésiter!!! Cette semaine passée au great parnassus sera gravée dans ma mémoire pour longtemps. :)

    Marilou T Nov 20, 2016
  • viagem de formatura

    Fui em 2014 para Cancún e fiquei hospedada no great parnassus e QUE HOTEL MARAVILHOSO. Eu não queria vir embora para o brasil depois de passar 10 dias la. Excelente atendimento, comida maravilhosa, tudo muito bom.

    Maurício A Jul 16, 2016
  • Loved this resort

    This resort was AMAZING! We went on a family holiday ( 6 adults and 2 children). On our first day we all had mixed opinions about the resort, we didn't like it but it was due to all of us being so tired and grumpy after an eleven hour flight. Out first impressions of the room (630) was that it was very dated but once we got settled in the room was brilliant. The staff makes this resort, they are always greeting you all and helping you. They made you feel at home, for example Alejandro was serving in the karaoke bar one night and he made sure to engage and a conversation and ask us about where we were from. Also, the maids have the rooms immaculate; our maid was usually Magnolia and she even done swans etc. on the bed for small tips. Also Pedro from Big Ben helped make my mother's 50th birthday special. The restaurants and bars were good, our favorite bar to go to at night was Paola's sports bar, this bar was very well air conditioned and the staff were lovely. The Mexican was nicer than expected, we were put of it because the one in Crown Paradise was horrible but the one in GP was lovely. There was always great selection for breakfast and lunch in Magnus but for dinner we tended to stick to restaurants. The hotel is making improvements and they now have Xbox's etc. which is really good. In conclusion, don't see what people can complain about as this hotel is brilliant. I definitely want to go back in another two years.

    Orláith B Jul 15, 2016
  • We loved this resort

    My family of five stayed for two weeks, ages 50, 47, 16, 10 and 5. We loved this resort. It was perfect for our family. I will share the good and the bad but we would love to return to this resort. No resort is perfect and everyone is looking for something different but for us this was great. Rooms: We had a family room with bunk beds, trundle bed and king bed. The bunk/trundle bed was a little older and had some repairs but was completely safe. We loved having a little corner for the kids to be on their own. There was a big dresser with two shelves on each side as well as nightstands for storage. The closet was large and I took extra hangers because we are such a big family. There was also a part of the closed that was floor to ceiling shelves. We had plenty of storage. The beds were comfortable but hubby didn’t like the pillows. He likes feather or squishy pillows. I was okay with mine. There was a tiny table and two chairs in the room plus an equally tiny table and two chairs on the patio. This made room service interesting. Kids ended up eating on my bed. There was no refrigerator so we bought a big cooler. We like cold drinks in the room. We got some ice from room service because that is the only place to get ice at the resort but mostly we bought our own. We had a car so it wasn’t a big deal. They took all ice machines out during the recent upgrades. Overall the room was in good condition, not perfect but good. I loved the tub surround for shaving. The separate water closet was nice. Our room attendants were all good. We had a gentleman most of the time and I wish I got his name because he was great. They had nice bathroom amenities and I really liked the shampoo. Face clothes were hard to come by. We did have room key issues. After one week our keys stopped working. We figured they are used to programming them for one week not two. Then we had issues again a few days later and it turned out to be the battery in the lock, fixed instantly. I’ve had this happen to me at some really nice hotels in the US so I cannot blame the resort. Please don’t leave your patio door open because it will make your air conditioner drip on your room floor, too much humidity. It also will cause your room door to slam if they are both open. The view from the balcony in our room, 436, was beautiful and very private. The way the balconies are angled it offers plenty of privacy. Also, for your safety keep in mind that the doors to the rooms do not automatically shut the whole way. Take a moment to pull your door shut. The room does lack electrical outlets. We only found one in the main room, one in the kids’ area, and one in the bathroom. We took a power strip for all our electronics. I wish I had taken some Command hooks because we could have used more places to hang things. We did take a clothes line that we hooked up out of view on our balcony and our things dried quickly. Room service: The room service menu is very limited and changes throughout the day. We ordered breakfast a few mornings which you must do on the room card the night before on the door. We really enjoyed the breakfasts in our room. We did have to ask for replacement cards some days. I think we only ordered other food once or twice. They say 45 minutes but it is usually less. The only time we had an issue was on our final morning of course. They were late and we had to stuff a few bites in and leave to return the rental car. You choose your breakfast time by the half hour starting at 7. Kids’ Club: Ginger seemed to be the one in charge and we loved her. Also the young woman with the blond hair was excellent but they were all really nice. Kids are allowed in for three hours at a time and you need to let them know where you are in case there is an issue. Only on the last day did we have a woman tell us to call every hour and check on the kids. Finding a house phone isn’t easy so that was a pain but it was only once. They have a regular program for the kids that they give you with your map and resort details at check in. They also give you one the first time you drop the kids off. Not that we needed it but I love that this resort also has a babies club. They offer family time three times a day when you can be in the kids’ club with your kids. I usually tip the kids’ club employees at the end of the week so I planned to do it twice this trip at the end of each week. However, with the staff rotations and general feel of it I decided to tip daily when picking the girls up. We usually used kids club in the evenings. They will take the kids to dinner at the buffet then they either see a movie in their own little theater or have a party till 8:50. Nanny care is available after 8:50 for $15 per hour for up to 2 kids in the same family. If you are late picking up your kids you automatically have to pay this. We were never late nor did we take advantage of the nanny service. You must go through the kids club to get to the little kids’ pirate ship with slides. It is way too hot in that area with no shade and no drinks permitted to spend much time there. Kids must arrive 10 minutes before the start of an activity to participate so if you want your kids to mini golf at 11 am then be there by 10:50 to get them signed in. You can only break the rules if you are a native Spanish speaker (more on that later). It is a pain to walk so far to the kids club and the slides. We only did the slides one day because of the walk and lack of shade. Also, walking to get the kids at night from the kids’ club is way too dark. I had trouble seeing and was afraid we would trip since my kids aren’t the most graceful nor do they pay attention to where they are walking. Restaurants: First, we love the no reservations. This makes life so much easier for a family. We did both family dinners and some nights where we allowed the kids to eat with kids’ club at the buffet. If eating at a restaurant other than the buffet it is better to be early eaters or you might have a short wait. We only waited once. Our favorite restaurants were Big Ben Steakhouse and Japanese. Big Ben is the only one that offers a children’s menu. Portions are not huge but that is okay, less waste. The Italian got mixed reviews from our family. Hubby didn’t care for it and the first time neither did I but the second trip we ordered different and my teen and I really enjoyed it and had a great waiter. At the Italian they do seem to pace your meal so it will take a while. Our least favorite, okay one we would never eat at again is the Manhattan. It is supposed to be American food but really misses. The hostess also was not friendly or inviting. When hubby and daughter were there the hostess was turning people away 15 minutes before closing. Big Ben and the Japanese are enclosed and air conditioned, the Italian, Manhattan and the French are open air and a tad warm. We didn’t try the French because it is adult only and they told us women needed closed toe shoes. Not sure this is true, I believe they said that because daughter had on flip flops and it is formal there. The buffet offers a lot of choices but it does not vary much so yes after two weeks we were bored with it. I did really enjoy their pork chops and rolls. We also like the crepes better here than at the little crepe shop. Desserts were good. During breakfast and lunch do not expect wait service in the buffet. The waiters are just too busy and are acting more like busboys. It is hard to find a table with clean silverware set up during these meals and also late in the evenings for dinner. Go to breakfast before 9:30 or you may not find a table. Also for dinner plan to go before 9 or you may find food stations empty and not refilled. Saturday morning I would suggest you just order room service breakfast and avoid the buffet all together. Room service and buffet are the only things available for breakfast and it just isn’t enough to serve all the guests. No food take out, anywhere. This includes no drinks taken out of buffet which is a pain in the behind. The snack bars close at 6 and if you are at the pool there is nowhere to get a drink nearby. Which brings me to the snack bar by the pool, if you are not Mexican be prepared to wait and expect them to serve others before you. This is the one place where they did not seem happy to serve you. Canul pizza maker makes you wait, just because he can. He was are least favorite employee in the entire resort. It’s a shame because the kids loved the pizza. The one day he wasn’t there and there was a different pizza maker it was so much better. The fries, nachos and chicken wings here were excellent. There is a self-serve soda machine there as well. The coffee is horrible here, just no other way to say it. On a positive note the buffet has really good cookies. It seems to be one basically recipe that they change up by adding coconut some days and cinnamon other days. I want that recipe. I almost forgot the Mexican restaurant, probably because it is tucked away over by the kids club. It was good overall and air conditioned. They do not have milk at this restaurant. General resort stuff: Towel can be exchanged at aqua tour desk by middle pool, kids club, adult pool. Braids at resort $25 half, $45 whole. The first week we didn’t see a lot of people playing the towel game and always found a great spot at the pool but the second week those chair savers showed up. As a family of 5 we use 2 to 3 loungers knowing that we all aren’t going to sit on them at the same time. Some people feel they need to reserve a lounger for their child who never leaves the pool, sad. The resort is not new but they are constantly doing maintenance and fixing the place up. I had heard that there was recently some ownership changes and brought back some original staff that really love this resort and it shows. They are currently closing in part of the glass roof in the buffet and extending the air conditioning which helped tons and will be even better when it is done. The tennis courts were getting new fencing the whole time we were there so my daughter was bummed. It is sadly true that you get 2 bottles of water at check in and it is not refilled no matter how big your party or how long you stay. After your two bottles it is 50 cents per bottle from room service. We took water bottles because we heard water is available everywhere, it isn’t. The soda fountains give you fizzy water that is gross and although there are water dispensers around the resort there aren’t that many or any near the pool or in the buffet. Also, my kids didn’t like that all the water had fruit in it. The good news is that the drinks are strong. I’m not a big drinker but I did enjoy a few. There is drink service at the beach which is nice. They have a bar there and a waitress. The pool waitress was the BEST. There is a swim up bar which is not adults-only and a walk up bar near the pool. There is also a bar up at the adults-only pool but it is hot up there with no shade. You will find some beautiful things hidden around the resort if you take the time to look. The mini golf area is beautiful. I couldn’t possibly count all the minions painted around the resort. See if you can find the frog and ladybug. Hint; unusual sculptures. Shout out to the best resort staff we came across; Joel in buffet is awesome; Juanita pool server is the best, Enrique in Italian works so hard and is pleasant, and Humberto in Big Ben is the best server of all. Thanks to the wonderful staff that made our special vacation all the more special. We found the resort to be multi-cultural with US, Mexico, Cuba, and Canada represented mostly by the guests. The weekend gets crazy busy with long weekend guests plus the resort has a convention center where they hold graduations and such. We also saw two different reunions going on while there. No beach vendors except massage hut to left, $40. The resort does iguana feeding each day at 10 so be sure the kids are in the pool area to go to this. The pools are open till 10 which was a great surprise for us. The resorts we stayed at before closed about 7. We enjoyed the evening swims when it was cooler. The slides close at 6. All the resorts had red flags most times but we got beach time. The beach at the resort is really nice with lots of shade. The pool gets shade in the afternoon because of the way the resort is situated. This is great because it is really hot there. They are replacing the loungers at the pools and taking the older ones to the beach. They were all in really good condition. We tried three of the shows but missed one I wanted to see. They were all good but entertainment lacks between dinner and the show so some nights we just went to our rooms to enjoy the balcony or air conditioning. It’s really nice that the theater is air conditioned instead of a hot outdoor theater that some resorts have. There are a few concrete ashtrays in the pool area for smokers and it is okay to smoke there. We did not see a lot of smokers. Something I appreciated is that the pool area is concrete instead of slick tiles. None of us fell in this area. The pools are actually one big pool with three levels. They sort of go like this; upper is kids and families, middle is resort games and activities, and the lower is the quietest of the three. Each day you and your children can have your pictures taken with animals and birds by the pol. They are $10 per digital photos. You select your photos and have your disk printed near the lobby. Check in was easy and friendly. All service from the front desk was good. You can get your pesos changed to smaller bills from front desk, checkout line only. You can also change American to pesos there. We didn’t exchange so I don’t know the rate. If you need to hang out after check-out or if you just want a place with nice air conditioning go to the hospitality area hidden behind the drug store. It is huge with comfy chairs and sofas. The restrooms there have showers and are big with lots of air conditioning. No one ever asked us about a timeshare which is a bonus for a resort. Don’t know if they have them because we wouldn’t be interested anyways. Karaoke bar has 2 pool tables not busy loud music. We did go here two nights and the kids loved it. We enjoyed a few drinks and relaxing with the family. In summary of this very long review, my family loved this resort and wants to return. With all the updates they are doing I can’t to see the place again. Great Parnassus you exceeded our expectations. Thank you for the birthday cake for hubby’s 50th and for making our family feel so welcomed and relaxed.

    HOSKI, Johnstown, PA Jul 05, 2016
  • Súper Vacaciones, Gracias Parnassus por todo

    Excelente Hotel todo Incluido, habitación de súper lujo con vista frontal al mar, snacks, bebidas, restaurantes de súper lujo, Silvia de Concierge mil gracias por ayudar a que mi cena romántica fuera un momento maravilloso a pesar de no tener disponibilidad en su agenda, a Felipe nuestro mesero de lujo, que más que ayudarnos fue hasta nuestro fotógrafo, a Marco de Portofino, a Benjamín del Restaurante Francés, a Lorenzo del Samurái, a todos los barman, siempre atentos a las debidas, mil gracias equipo de animación porque hicieron que mis hijos y nosotros la pasamos De Maravilla, Gracias Great Parnassus team.
    Fam. Moya Cortés.

    Alfredo M Jul 06, 2016
  • Great place

    The Kids Club is very nice. They have space for 2 years old (without parent) and up! they have their own swimming pool! a lot of activities! it opens from 9:00am to 8:50pm! - The girls who are in charge of the Kids Club are super nice, specially Marissu, Angie and Susana and all the others who were working from 11/23/2016 to 11/27/2016. - The Karaoke is so fun! The only not very nice DJ is a girl named Jamily. But the other DJ I believe his name is Rogelio, he is new but he is sooooo fun! - The waitresses are nice. - Food, drinks and snacks are every where! - Every night there is a show from 9:00pm to 10:00pm, then you go to the Karaoke. Soooo fun!

    Marcia Brand, Houston, Texas Feb 12, 2016
  • La mejor estancia que pude tener

    Excelente hotel, muy buena atención desde que llegas. La comida muy rica y los meseros muy atentos en especial MARCOS que se encuentra en el restaurante del piso 10 muy atento el joven y con una muy buena vibra y el señor JORGE que se encuentra en el restaurante de cortes de carnes muy educado y atento por supuesto. Las actividades muy divertidas y mejor aún por parte de JESUS Y ALEJANDRO quien te hacen reír mucho y hacen un gran ambiente en el karaoke con su "Tequila, tequila" y sin dejar a un lado el señor "ELPIDIO" CAPITÁN DE MESEROS QUE TIENE UNA ATENCIÓN MUY BUENA y muy tratable. Las instalaciones perfectas yo no tuve problema alguno. El hotel muy limpio, albercas igual en general les pongo un "10 " Espero regresar pronto...

    Gabriela M Jul 04, 2016
  • Semaine de reve au soleil

    Je suis partie avec mon amie et ma mère pour fêter son 50e anniversaire. J'ai trouvé cet hotel tout simplement super !! Notre voyage a très bien commencé dès notre chek in, l'homme responsable de faire notre admission a su répondre à nos nombreuses demandes et nos nombreux caprices. Il était attentionné et il s'est assuré de nous donner une chambre au 9ieme étage étant donnée que nous voulions avoir une belle vue. La chambre était très propre et d'une belle grandeur. La salle de bain était également parfaite surtout compte tenu du fait que nous étions 3 filles dans la même chambre !! Il y a également une mention très spéciale à faire pour l'équipe d'animation.. Dès le premier jour, nous avons participé aux nombreuses activités et nous avons eu beaucoup de plaisir tout au long de notre semaine. Jesus, Manny, patricio, Monica et tous les autres sont des personnes incroyables qui dégagent une joie de vivre contagieuse et qui seront rendre vos vacances encore plus belles. Jesus et Santino sont également parfaits lors des soirées Karaokés, ils savent comment faire passer un bon moment aux nombreux vacanciers. Nous avons aussi eu la chance d'avoir sur la plage une serveuse qui a su nous donner le meilleur service de toute ma vie! Elle était attentionnée, toujours présente lorsque nos verres étaient vides et très très attachante. Merci beaucoup à Karina. Pour ce qui est des restaurants, nous avons adoré le restaurant Samourai. Nous sommes même allées 4 fois souper dans celui-ci et ce n'est pas parce qu'il manquait de restaurants, mais bien parce que nous étions accro. Adalberto, notre serveur était tout simplement super. Il tentait même de nous parler en francais. Bref, je recommande cet hotel à tout le monde et j'y retournerais sans hésiter!!! Cette semaine passée au great parnassus sera gravée dans ma mémoire pour longtemps. :)

    Marilou T, Saguenday, Canadá Nov 20, 2016
  • viagem de formatura

    Fui em 2014 para Cancún e fiquei hospedada no great parnassus e QUE HOTEL MARAVILHOSO. Eu não queria vir embora para o brasil depois de passar 10 dias la. Excelente atendimento, comida maravilhosa, tudo muito bom. E em relação a comida pedida no quarto, o serviço era imediato. Super indico este hotel e sempre que puder me hospedarei nele.

    Maurício A Jul 16, 2016